Search Our Catalog

Library Commissioners

Waterbury Public Library is a municipal department of the Town of Waterbury, administered by a library director and governed by a five-member Library Commission. The Commissioners establish the policies by which the Library operates. Commissioners are elected at Town Meeting to serve staggered five-year terms. The current Commissioners are Harriet Grenier (Chair), Margaret Luce (Vice-Chair), Alice Durkin (Treasurer), Megan Rivera and Freya Chaffee (Secretary).

Commissioners meet at the Library at 10 AM on the second Monday of each month. All meetings are open to the public.  Check under the Events tab for upcoming meeting dates.

Minutes of Commissioners’ meetings prior to 2008 may be viewed at the Library or the Town Office.  Minutes of Commissioners' meetings since January 2008 are posted below.

Beginning in the spring of 2012 Library Commissioners met frequently with the Select Board and Village Trustees to discuss options for co-locating  municipal offices, library, police station, and historical society in a municipal civic complex. 

Minutes of the Tri-Board meetings are on the Waterbury Town website.  Minutes of the Municipal Building Committee can be found here.

site map